Hi, I'm a beginner at WingTsun and these forums...

A

Aleem

I didn't know where to post first. I thought I'd post here with fellow WingTsun practitioners. I have an unbelievable amount of questions regarding WingTsun, self-defense, etc. I hope I don't ask overly-confused or stupid questions. I've only been doing WingTsun at University for 2 months. That's 16 lessons so far I think.

I'm willing to be patient with it, but with only 3 years at University, I don't know how far I could take my training for WingTsun (with respects to improving my self-defense). Could anyone please give me a general time-frame for what can potentially be achieved in 45 lessons per year (over 3 years)? I spend 28 weeks at home during holidays from university, which means I lose out critically on constant training (there are no WingTsun lessons for atleast 150 miles here). I guess what I'm trying to ask is, that with respects to competence in ability to defend myself in a street-situation against 1 assailent, how much can WingTsun potentially help me?

So far the lessons have been really disparate. The only thing I'm doing at the moment is the Siu Nim Tao. I've got 4 weeks of holidays with no teacher or partners. Any pointers as to what I could do to make the most of this time?

Like I said, apologies for very confused questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

p.s. I'm Aleem, 19, very thin (and physically quite weak) - WingTsun is my first ever experience of any martial arts.