How do you chamber a side kick?

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score
I too change side, usually based on what the opponent is doing. A lead leg faint is a good tactic. We often practice a double kick where the first kick is essentially a feint or setup for the second kick. A lead leg side kick is the best way to stop a hard charge with a kick, IMHO. It can be powerful enough to put someone on their backside if timed right. The body should also be centered enough during/after the kick to follow up quickly with another technique. There are probably as many variations of a lead leg kick as rear leg. It is definitely a practice/repetition thing.

Its a thing of beauty when you see a sidekick to the chest lay someone flat.

OP
skribs

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I don't have one to teach. I've started working on one, but I'm not very good with it - not even good enough to understand where it would fit into my curriculum and tactics. If I ever get it serviceable, I'll likely add it to my curriculum.

I'm actually hoping I might get some help from the Karate folks at the new dojo I'll be teaching at.

The front leg side kick works a lot like how you use the front snap kick - it's good for blocking an opponent's momentum. There's also the step-behind side kick which is pretty good for closing distance.

Front leg kicks are used a lot in Taekwondo, although a big reason for that is that we're tagging for points. There are subtle ways you can improve the power of them (most of those start with a motion from the rear leg). A rear kick will be stronger, but the front kick is faster and more likely to hit the target.

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score
Front leg kicks are used a lot in Taekwondo, although a big reason for that is that we're tagging for points.

The front leg generates a lot of power as well. I've seen an arm broken by one and we had a competitor this last weekend have her ribs broken with one.

dvcochran

Grandmaster
Reaction score