having trouble deciding on a style

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have been looking to start taking martial art lessons for some time for practical self defense.i have gotten down to 2 different styles that i have been considering that look the most interesting to me but i can't figure out whih one i want to do.the 2 styles are american kenpo and daito ryu jujitsu/daito ryu aikijujitsu.
there are a few things that i should mention that might play into things.i have bed tendinitis in both of my wrists and i have a bad left knee.im also a full time musician (drummer) so i don't want to do anything that would jeopardize my music career.
these things said i really want to study one of these styles.if you had to compare these styles against each other for real world self defense how whould they rate? i know no one style is "better" then another but im sure that considering what im looking for and my physical issues that one of these styles might be best suited for me.
also,from what i know of american kenpo there is really no ground fighting in the system so if that style is the one i choose i will have to do something about that.and that would mean some other style for the ground fighting im guessing.what style would work for the real self defense on the street for ground fighting that would complement the american kenpo? i ask this just in case the kenpo is the way to go for me.
i have also been doing a lot of research about these styles,kenpo and jujitsu, and i have seen some info about the effectiveness of off balancing of an opponent by throwing them to the ground or redirecting them in some way as opposed to trying to just stand toe to toe with them and just pound through them with strikes and kicks.this has made me wonder about the effectivness of american kenpo as compared to jujitsu because of the use of strikes and kicks in kenpo.does kenpo have things like off balancing throws and such that is at all like the jutjitsu stuff?