MA vs Integrated Styles

K

Koga-Shinobi

:rolleyes: I'm sure to most of you out there, this sounds like a stupid question, I apologise if that is the case, I'm a beginner in the MAs you see, so I'm trying to find out everything I can before I make a commitment to a style and regret it at a later stage.

At the moment, I've two interests (Ninjitsu and Aikido~strange pairing huh?)...recently I've just discovered a gym where they teach an integrated style (jujitsu, brazillian jujitsu, pankration) designed for self-defense. The head of the gym apparently has won numerous South African Championships in Jujitsu, has trained BJJ with Maetre Desche etc etc..so he seems a highly qualified teacher.

What he teaches are techniques designed purely for self-defense: effective and rapid moves. No mucking around with stuff you never use.

SOunds very cool and all that...but what concerns me is that it is not a "pure" MA, ie. no belts, no affiliation, no hierarchy as such. What strikes me in joining a dojo is the constant competition to be better, which unfortunately is represented by the color of your belt...an indication of status almost. Without having such a system, there's no real yard stick to mark your improvement, or how your progression is going, other than your teacher's comments.

What do you think? Am I being too Idealistic, or is Integrated Arts the way to go?

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Just start, and if you don't like it - change...

Your the only one that knows what's best for you!

/Yari

jkn75

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Go to the classes and watch. Which one seems interesting to you? Does one seem to excite you more than the other?

If you want a traditional martial art, go that route. Many people enjoy martial arts without the tradition of belts, forms, etc. Its a personal decision. Look at what your goals are for the martial arts because this will help shape your decision on what art/style you'll do.
:asian:

OP
G

George Martin