Had my first day of TKD today.

B

bMunky

I'm a danzan ryu student and I wanted to crosstrain in some kind of karate, tae kwon do. I decided to check out the TKD program at school and it ended up being cool as hell. Today was my first class, it was pretty tuff, the stretching was killing me, I was catching on to the kicks really quick and I never realized how hard it is to hold a horse stance my legs were shaking, haha. It's WTF Tae Kwon Do, I know it's sport tae kwon do but I aint tripping I like the class and the teachers and it's really to just compliment my jujitsu.

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
bMunky said:
I'm a danzan ryu student and I wanted to crosstrain in some kind of karate, tae kwon do. I decided to check out the TKD program at school and it ended up being cool as hell. Today was my first class, it was pretty tuff, the stretching was killing me, I was catching on to the kicks really quick and I never realized how hard it is to hold a horse stance my legs were shaking, haha. It's WTF Tae Kwon Do, I know it's sport tae kwon do but I aint tripping I like the class and the teachers and it's really to just compliment my jujitsu.

Good job! I did Danzan ryu and TKD at the same time and they are a great compelement. The only way to learn to defend against punches and kicks is to have them constantly thrown at you - which TKD and other striking arts will do. Best of luck in your training.

OnlyAnEgg

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Good job! TKD was my introduction to MA and, yes, the stretching was arduous. Continued good luck.

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
Very cool!

Welcome to the fun.

I really realized the difference the stretching had made when I started a BJJ class and realized how much range I had to stretch compared to the other students. (Nothing against them because they stretch for a different goal)

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
bMunky said: