Greetings from Tokyo

kuniggety

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings and salutations. I am an avid practitioner of martial arts, have read topics on this board over the years, and finally decided to sign up. I studied Shuri-ryu karate for a couple of years as a kid, did a short stint studying o-Mei Kung fu and San shou, later another short stint in aikikai aikido, bak sil lum and Northern Praying Mantis in private lessons for a little while, and most recently have been practicing Brazilian jiu-jitsu for a little over a year and a half. I recently spent 6 months in Thailand where I learned the Chen 39 Laojia short form. I've been in the US Air Force for 13 years and am currently stationed at Yokota AB in Japan. I look forward to having some good discussions with you all.

OP
K

kuniggety

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the warm welcome! While I was exposed to Aikikai aikido, o-mei kung fu, and san shou, the exposures were all too brief to really influence my practices. They were each for only a few months at a time because of a variety of work/moving issues. I didn't really practice anything for many years but these past few years I've been training hard. I was studying bak sil lum & Northern Praying Mantis and had just started to really get a feel for the two styles when I got orders to here in Japan. I couldn't find any schools to study either close to me but it got me to finally give BJJ a try. I'd never done any grappling before and instantly fell in love with it. It'll be nice that, since it's so popular, that I will be able to continue studying it wherever I move next. I roll with a local Axis school called Uprising. I've been a visitor to a couple of schools in Hawaii and Bangkok. I'm starting to pile up my hours on the mats and I think I'll be ready for my blue belt soon.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score