Expat, BJJ blogger living in Korea

JiuJiuBJJ

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm Julia, aka Jiu Jiu from jiujiubjj.com. I've been doing BJJ and blogging about it for just over 3 years. Save for vacations, I've exclusively trained in Korea with most of my instruction in Korean (nope, I don't speak enough to understand, save for limited words). I started BJJ when I was very overweight - 205 lbs, 5'4" and through lifestyle change, overall food and adding exercise, I'm now down close to 60 lbs. I'm 37 years old and didn't have an athletic background - I'm a geek/nerd/dork and have the Star Trek tattoos to show it (for the record, Star Wars is cool - it is a great STORY, but Star Trek is a way better universe with much cooler and more developed alien races/world/ideals - in other words, I'll take a Trekkie with a light saber).

I'm also a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer. I was in Ukraine from 2007-2009 - and yes, it's Ukraine, not the Ukraine. I love life as an expat. I'm from the Seattle/Tacoma area (lived in both), and my family is there. I don't see leaving Korea any time soon - I love it here.

I happened upon this forum because I noticed that my blog had gotten some hits from it. Thanks for posting the link, Steve! I'm active in the BJJ communities online, which is why I was really surprised that I'd overlooked this one! How was this not revealed to me before?

I was impressed with the depth of the conversation in some of the women's threads, so I wanted to add my voice.

My username on jiu jitsu forums is scifigal - not sure if there's much overlap. I'm active over there. I'm also on Reddit as JiuJiuBJJ.

In any case, it's nice to meet all of you.

Last edited:

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to Martial Talk, Julia! I've read through your blog before and enjoyed your insights. Having recently started Jiu-Jitsu blogging myself, I'm impressed at your output. I have to struggle to find time to write.