Do you practice outside of class?

PhotonGuy

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello all.

A couple of months ago, my son and I joined a new martial arts club. We're loving it, but we're not very good at it yet.

Here is a dilemma I face. Do we practice at home between classes or not?

Here's what I'm thinking.

On one hand, if we practice at home, then obviously that would generally be a good thing. BUT, as we're still total beginners, what we currently do will not be quite right. I'm worried that if we practice without the supervision of our instructor, all that will happen is we will perfect the art of doing it wrong.

Any thoughts?

As beginners its fine to do some practice at home and as a matter of fact, on my first day I was told to practice the techniques I was taught at home. However, you don't want to overdo it. At home you don't have a sensei to watch over you so you can develop bad habits without knowing it. So, I would recommend maybe doing a total of a hundred repetitions of every technique you've been taught, in between classes. As a beginner you probably haven't been taught too many techniques yet, just the basics. So lets say you were taught the front kick on wednesday and your next class is on friday. You could do maybe thirty front kicks at home after class, forty on thursday, and then another thirty on friday before class. That way if you do develop bad habits your instructors can correct them in time.

Shai Hulud

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Definitely!

The beauty of pre-set/pre-rehearsed forms (katas, pumse's, etc.) is that you can practice them on your own, and then have your instructor correct or follow up on your progress the next time you show up in class. :) I highly recommend drilling those until they're second nature to you, and you can "perform them in your sleep", so to speak.

Power to you and your son!

Ally

crazydiamond

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Yes I do. My school provides a curriculum. My outside school work includes