I'm nervous about starting doing Taekwondo.

xAzuga

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello! I've recently started looking for a new hobby/activity and I started getting interested in Taekwondo and would like to start practicing it but I'm nervous about it. I talked to the gym I would attend and they said i'm more than welcome as a beginner but I suppose they say that to every potential new member. I really want to try it but most of the people (and friends) say that it is really really hard and not made for people that are not flexible and that it would be close to impossible for me to get good at it. I know it's hard but people make it seem impossible to follow if u didn't start as a child. I'm 20 and not flexible at all and that's what's holding me back. I'm nervous going to this class as a total newbie who's the opposite of flexible. Do u have tips for me? Like should I do some exercises at home for a while before going to that gym or maybe stories that will motivate me? I really want to do this.
Thanks!

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
You'll get flexible once you start going. And no ones going to expect you to do insane kicks right from the start. One of the biggest mistakes people make is waiting to go train until they're in shape-they get stuck in that phase and never actually start training.

mrt2

Brown Belt
Reaction score