do actions really speak louder then words?

JC2005

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
so I was at the track running with my friend, and then playing some catch. we didnt realize it but for about 20 minutes a group of 5 guys were watching us. about 20 minutes later my friend and I started to leave and they confronted us trying to take our football and pushing us around. My friend is only 14 so he was extremely scared so I told him to walk away and dont worry about me. I told the guys to stop and that I was a trained martial artist. some of them laughed, whille some started to look worried. I could tell that my words were working with some of them and I just had to try and keep it up for a but more but one of them came out of no wehere and tried to sucker punch me. I saw it out of the corner of my eye and I caught it and I pulled his arm behind his back and told his friends to leave me alone. they all immedietaly said ok just dont hurt him. I pushed the guy that I was holding into his friends and they all took off.

I think what I was trying to say is that even though sometimes newer martial arts students want to show off what, they know that you should try and avoid any confrontation with people. using words not physically hurting anyone. in my school with the little kids class we actually teach them to use there voice if they are in trouble. and I never thought that I would ever have to use my voice to get out of a situation but it certanly helped out yesterday

JC2005

Martial Tucker

Black Belt
Reaction score
In general. I think you did a nice job of staying calm and handling what could have been a nasty situation. I'll offer a couple of thoughts though...