build a better me

Aiki Lee

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Yo.

I'm trying to get into better shape, and since I'm not huge into lifting weights or lots of running, I thought I would start off with some push ups, pull ups, light jogging, and sit ups.

For anyone who knows, If I wanted to build stronger muscles through push ups and pull ups, how many do you think I should do? How long should I rest in between reps? Do I do them every day, more than once a day, every other day?

Jogging I heard is good if you go for about 20 minutes every other day. Have I heard right?

While I'm slightly overweight, my health is not in any actual danger. I'm just trying to build a more effective and healthier me, so any advice you can give is helpful even if it seems like common sense to you, it might be new to me.

I look forward to your replies.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I look forward to your replies.

I'm not an expert. However, a lot depends on what you're after - strength, weight loss, or cardiovascular fitness. They can all three be different goals, or they can be combined.

For CV fitness, get your heart rate up to 150% of your normal resting pulse for a minimum of 30 minutes, for a minimum of three times per week. You have to increase your level of exercise as you gain fitness, as your heart rate will decrease. When you can perform strenuous exercise for 30 straight minutes and your heart rate and breathing return to normal resting rate within one minute, you are CV fit.

Strength training involves tearing down muscle tissue, which requires the body to begin adding muscle during the rebuild process. Exercise to failure for fastest results.

Weight loss happens when you eat less and exercise more. So CV will help, and so will strength training when you begin to see results, because muscle requires more metabolic energy than fat per pound. However, you can be very strong and very out of shape, and also very strong and very fat, so choose wisely.