Black Belt Etiquette Question

MAEKS

White Belt
Reaction score
I will try and keep this simple. A family member received a black belt a few years ago from the well respected Master of the dojo which has the name and schools name on it.
Then as a gift recently received another black belt, from another schools higher ranking master. We are all friendly and respect each other in the MA field. I am also a martial artist. My question is would it be proper or respectable for the "family member" to wear the new black belt from the other instructor in the normal dojo? It is not a second degree or anything like that. A reg. black belt with no writing on it.
The thing is, it was presented to this family member at a leisurely function with the other master there.
There are good reasons behind this "gift" so if there are any questions....

Last edited:

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I suppose it depends on the reasons, and I expect the politics behind it.

However, all else being equal, I would only ever wear a belt given to me by my teacher (other than if I bought one myself to replace a worn one). I would never wear a belt given to me as a gift by someone who was never my teacher.

Honestly, it strikes me as a very odd gift.

OP
M

MAEKS

White Belt
Reaction score
I know. It sounds CRAZY! I was almost afraid to ask because it sounds odd!! I know this is not the norm. At least would think so. We are so grateful for our MA family though.
Nothing comes easy. We train, train, train.
My family has been involved with MA for a very long time and the second belt was almost a reward for the hard work and dedication by the family member. It seems as though there is always politics involved though. I'm glad I asked about it. Thank you for your input.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Way too much thinking and effort into this...