Barefoot practice of Chinese Martial Arts?

Ben S

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing martial arts for 35 years, always barefoot - this is common to the Japanese and Korean martial arts styles I've trained in - Uechi Ryu, Hayashi Ha - Shito Ryu and Shim Gum Do ( a zen martial art).
I also practice yoga and live by the ocean - being barefoot is natural to me. MMA / UFC fighters also fight barefoot. I can't imagine training in shoes and after so many years, have adapted to practicing this way. For example - the bare foot will stick a bit to a varnished wooden floor, so I have learned over the years to lift my weight off a foot on which I am pivoting or turning, making it an integral part of how I move. I've recently become interested in baguazhang, which I always see performed in shoes. I'm a beginner to this art and am mainly doing circle walking with palm changes and of course, in bare feet. The sliding step in bagua takes a little more concentration in bare feet, but I am greatly enjoying the challenge! I am interested in your thoughts and experiences about practicing barefoot vs wearing shoes, especially in regard to the chinese martial arts.

mograph

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Our group (old-school Hong Kong guys living in Toronto) practices in street clothes, ostensibly because Sifu is not into formality, possibly because he was taught that way, or because we're not an official club, or because the floors where we practice are not swept, or because we might as well learn to fight in the stuff we wear every day.

You know, I'll ask next week.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score