Avoiding the overzealous student...

Scotty

White Belt
Reaction score
I am very new in Kenpo. I have been attending a weekly class for the past 5 months. I have been practicing nearly everyday for the past few months. I am ready to advance in my training and I feel myself becoming more and more anxious to move forward. While I realize its up to my instructor to know when I am ready to advance ranks would it be entirely out of the question to ask him about advancing belt ranks? How does one know when they are ready to advance?

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks!

I understand how you feel, Scotty. It's good that you're excited to grow and working to make progress to the best of your ability!!
BUT: Don't "ASK" to be tested for rank.
MOST martial arts schools I've ever been too consider it wrong / bad manners....etc. to 'ask' if you can be tested.

Something you MAY consider, however: you may approach your instructor and ask them what they'd recomend you work on / focus on in order to be ready....in the future....to advance to the next rank. THIS way you're not asking to be promoted, but you ARE demonstrating your desire to make progress and to seek their advice on what to do.
Who knows, you may just get an answer of "Oh..well...you're doing well. Lets test you."
OR
"Here's where I want to see you make progress." THEN you'll have a realistic idea on what you need to do and you can focus on that. After all, your desire is to make progress, not just 'get' a belt....right?

Your Brother
John

I am very new in Kenpo. I have been attending a weekly class for the past 5 months. I have been practicing nearly everyday for the past few months. I am ready to advance in my training and I feel myself becoming more and more anxious to move forward. While I realize its up to my instructor to know when I am ready to advance ranks would it be entirely out of the question to ask him about advancing belt ranks? How does one know when they are ready to advance?

Thanks!