Why we started training and what we think now...

OzPaul

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hi all, I was hoping that we could discuss why you started training and also your thoughts about your chosen system (like, dislike etc.), from when you started until the present day. I grew up watching allsorts of Kung Fu movies but i was never able to attend Martial Arts due to family arrangements so when i got my license, car etc. i joined a Wing Chun school which my friend had been training at for 4 years. My initial reaction was ^*&%*$ this is awesome! and i studied there for 4 months. Due to work circumstances i had to choose another system to train in so i went to a number of schools for the first free session to see what i thought was right for me and i didn't find anything for around 2 months. I then e-mailed the local Kenpo school which was a system i knew nothing about and as soon as i attended a class i was hooked! The economy of motion, science behind the art, ever changing techniques really got me and i have been hooked ever since. I am still a massive fan of Wing Chun and one day will continue my study but due to the current circumstances i am focused on Kenpo. Please let everyone know what you have and would like to study as i think everyone can learn from one another. Cheers, Paul

ralphmcpherson

Senior Master
Reaction score