Articulating your rank

S

smclain3

I have been stdying karate for 4 years now and I recently came across the topic of articulating your rank. I have a friend that has studied a certain martial art for several years and he is interested in studying another style. The instructor told him that he could articulate his current rank in his existing style to a new one. What does articulate your rank mean and is it very common.
Thanks
smclain3

bdparsons

Black Belt
Reaction score
I think the proper term usage in this case would be "matriculating" your rank not "articulating" your rank.

Respects,
Bill Parsons

Bujingodai

Black Belt
Reaction score
I assume considering if a style is relatively similar it makes sense in certain situations. I have heard of this pretty commonly used as well.

OP
C

Chicago Green Dragon

I have heard of some teachers allowing students to keep their black belt ranks when learning a new style even though i wonder if that could be a bit confusing and misleading since styles do vary as do techniques.

Chicago Green Dragon

:asian:

Bujingodai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Most times I have seen it is when the styles are the same just different org or very similar in style, sort of an honourable gesture.

OP
C

Chicago Green Dragon

Something just came to mind. I remember not to long ago reading something on here about a person who at their dojo allowed people of other styles who came to his school to wear their uniform and i think rank too.

The reason for this was to show them the respect they deserve for their other studies and also to allow them to at times lecture a bit of their style.

I can see why from an honorable gesture that can be allowed. Also, I think allowing people to sample a bit of another style is a good thing too. It can help to add to some techniques being done.

Chicago Green Dragon

:asian:

Bujingodai said: