Are you a natural puncher or counterpuncher?

kidswarrior

Senior Master
Reaction score
I know this is a boxing term, but you know what I mean. If you believe physical confrontation is probably imminent, do you try to strike first, or do you like to wait and counterstrike to the opening?

To get the conversation going, maybe we could start with sparring. If you're sparring (or when you used to), do you go in trying to hit first, or wait to see what the other person will do and come back with a hard counter?

On the street, do you think you'd keep the same mindset, or would it change for you? If you've had experience using your MA (or even pre-MA) on the street, was it the same?

I'd rather stay away from what we've been taught, or what we think others (like our instructors) want to hear, and find out what people really think. For example, one art I studied seriously and benefited from immensely preached strike first (as soon as he's in your personal space--about three feet), hard, and fast, and don't stop till he's down. That's not really my natural way, so I had to adjust it on the sly. That art is still foundational to my practice, but I don't teach that part of it quite as absolutely.

Special Note: In the event you think this dichotomy between puncher/counterpuncher is all wet: why? Was there a time earlier in your development when it did apply and you outgrew it? If so, can you tell us how? Or is there another, better way to look at it? Can you tell us why?

Looking forward to learning something. Thanks for contributing. :)

~kidswarrior

redfang

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Once I feel that conflict is imminent, i tend to want to act first.They say action is faster than reaction. In my younger days, i had a few situations where i let my instincts cause me to strike before i had to react. This was before Pres Bush popularized the preemptive strike. But each case was justified.