Ali can never be the greatest?

LeftchopFTW

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys just a thread on who really is the greatest boxer of all time?

Myself I am a Karate teacher, but my real passion is watching boxing.

When I think of the greatest boxer I do not think the conventional generic answer of Ali for many reasons:
  • Firstly, and it sounds stupid he only fought at one weight.
  • Secondly when fighting Frazier he lost when it was for a world title. When Ali beat him there was no world title and/or pressure as he had already lost before.
  • He had 3 fights with Ken Norton and having watched all 3 I find it incredible he got a decision out of any let alone winning two of them.
  • He lost to Spinks albeit this was towards the end of his career, however it doesnt change the fact Spinks had 7/8 professional fights before and did not even come in with a 100% win record.
To be a great boxer firstly your record must speak for itself in which his did not vs someone like Mayweather who beat more world champs, more #1, and at far more weights.

Someone who make a hell of a lot more sense is Roy Jones Jr. This guy was undefeated and then got disqualified, as a result he could no longer strive for a perfect record. This allowed him go from Middleweight to Super Middleweight to Light Heavyweight to Heavyweight and become a world champion in each which is unheard of. Granted now he has lost his mind and thinks he is Russian.

All I am trying to get out is Ali was not as good as everyone makes out.

Would like responses.

LCFTW

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score