2 diferent classes a week

Reaction score
im a quick learner and when it comes to martial arts i always try hard. i take muay thai classes twice a week and have been for a year , but i want to start a grappling art (my old jujitsu dojo is five minutes away from my house) but i still want to train in thai boxing , so would i learn enough if i carried on thai boxing once a week and went jujitsu once a week aswell?

i have only 1 years experience in jujitsu but i still remember what i learned in that 1 year so that will make things a bit easier when i start again , and i can get a heavy bag to practice my striking on so i wont be missing out on not going to the gym.

so , what do you think? should i get a heavy bag to train on and take 1 muay thai class and 1 jujitsu class a week?

or should i stay as i am for a while longer , buy a heavy bag to strike and go jujitsu twice a week?

your thought?

chris

Slihn

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Well it depends on what your goals are.If you are planning on becoming a Muay Thai fight then I would just stick to Muay Thai,but if you want to become more verstile I would to a bit of both(depending on how often you get to train).

On your post it looked like you only have the option of taking only 2 classes a week.If that is the case,then I would focus on just one art are the other.It will take a VERY long time to get perfect something that you only get to do once a week and out of the two Jujitsu would be harder to perfect,with little mat time, because you need a partner with just about all of your techniques.

I was in your shoes not to long ago.I want to learn both Gracie Jiu-jitsu and Muay Thai .At first I was training each one three days a week,but since I am plannig on becoming a (Muay Thai) fighter I have devoted pretty much all of my time to Muay Thai(I only get to train BJJ once night a week;after Muay Thai),after I get a few fights under my belt I will give more time to BJJ.