100 man kumite

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Wild. There is no way I would even think of trying to take that 100 man kumite test. 10 maybe but that extra 0 scares the hell out of me.

OP
K

Kempo Guy

For my Shodan test (in the branch of Kyokushinkai I studied) I had to go through a 20 man kumite. It is certainly an intense experience. The rounds were 2 minutes each (I think) or until the person was knocked down/out. BTW, these are done without any protective equipment, full contact but no punching to the face...

KG

Akashiro Tamaya

Green Belt
Reaction score
Mas Oyama started to institute the 100-man kumite as a requirement for attaining 4th or 5th dan. He soon found however, that not everyone had the spirit to do it, though the physical skill could "easily" be taught. The indomitable will, courage, and determination the "Spirit of Osu" in it's extreme just wasn't to be found in everyone. Thus it became a voluntary exercise for those few who had the right stuff.

At first, the fights could be completed over two days if so desired by the person doing it, but after 1967, Mas Oyama decided that they should all be fought on the same day. In addition to the basic requirement of 100 fights, other requirements are that the competitor must clearly win at least 50% of the fights, and if knocked down, should not stay down for longer than 5 seconds.

In Australia, and possibly elsewhere, the 50 man kumite is a lesser (but still no mean achievement) feat that can be attempted.