Writer Seeks Information on Comic Book Martial Arts Ads

D

Dan Kelly

Hi All,

I'm a writer (and a martial arts student) currently at work on an article (which might possibly blossom into a book) about comic book and magazine ads for martial arts courses in the 60s, 70s, and 80s. Older comic readers might remember them. They usually involved blurry clip-art of one guy shoulder-throwing another guy, or a comic strip of some dude in a suit and fedora kicking the butts of two thugs harassing his girlfriend—all followed by promises to teach you how to break bricks with your bare hands, take on multiple attackers, and so on. Karate, kung-fu, jiu jitsu, and judo were usually promoted, but I've also encountered books and courses for other systems I've never heard of before (like ketsugo, yubiwaza, and the like).

I'm interested in contacting people who might have worked in ad sales or the like at Marvel, DC, Charlton, etc. Especially, I'd like to track down the people who sold these books and courses. Finding the books themselves has been elusive, even on eBay. Any leads would be appreciated. Scans of ads are also sought. I've been buying up poor-condition comics and magazines to cut out the ads and collect them in a scrapbook. If you have a lot of poor-condition comics or mags from the 60s, 70s, and 80s containing these ads to sell, let me know.

Ads I'm interested in:

* Particularly, Count Dante and the Black Dragon Fighting Society. I sense he's a figure of controversy on forums like these. Living in Chicago, I have a hometown angle for this part of the article.
* Ketsugo
* Yubiwaza
* Karate, kung-fu, jiu-jitsu, judo, savate, and the like.