What is it with reality systems and hip throws?

OP
drop bear

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
A basic hip throw (o goshi or koshi guruma) is one of the simplest throws to learn the basic body mechanics for. You don't see it so much in grappling competition because it's tricky to get the setup against a skilled grappler, but against a pure striker or untrained person the opportunities can come up. Before I trained in Judo I would occasionally land a hip throw in sparring against karate and Kung fu practitioners and at that point I was mostly self-taught on the technique.

So would you teach it as part of say a six week SD course?

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
So would you teach it as part of say a six week SD course?
I won't. I'll teach "single leg" only and nothing else. As long as your opponent moves in toward you, his leading leg will be in your reach. First you learn how to use your hand to pull your opponent's leading leg (let your hand to do your leg job). Later on you learn how to use leg to pull your opponent's leading leg (let your leg to do your leg job). You will then move from "single leg" to "front cut".

Last edited:

Coup De Grâce

White Belt
Reaction score
What's with hip throws? Hip throws are easy to do; consequently, they are among the first throws that students are taught how to do. I've always thought it interesting that an effective counter to any hip throw is simply another hip throw, or some variation thereof.

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hip throws are easy to do;
A punch on the face only require 1 contact point. A hip throw will require 3 contact points. In order to do a hip throw, you have to meet the following 5 requirements:

Your

1. 1st contact point - left hand control your opponent's right arm.
2. 2nd contact point - right arm wrap his waist, or under/over hook his left shoulder.
3. 3rd contact point - hip touch below his belly.