What does your WC/WT/VT sparring look like?

PiedmontChun

Purple Belt
Reaction score
It seems like this forum has slowed recently. I think with some of the heated debate that comes from differing opinions, or even trolls coming from outside the Wing Chun community here to instigate or criticize has been a factor in that perhaps, though there are some still willing to post videos or discuss their own WC openly.
I ask the question "what does your sparring look like?" not to ruffle feathers or turn around and say "well this is what mine looks like". I'm genuinely curious to hear from people who have trained a long time, and as a pretty junior student myself, willing to describe my own.
Are you an instructor / student in a school or teach / learn WC more informally like in a small backyard club (or similar)?
What percentage of training is devoted to sparring?
What format does your school use? Timed rounds? Dividing by skill level or sparring across all student levels? Multiple attackers?
Half speed and half power? Full speed and half power? Full contact but with some kind of pads or sparring gear? Gloves used?
Is there critique or correction that comes as a result of sparring?

In my own experience, my school does sparring maybe the last 1/4 of class during the week's formal classes. There is usually no sparring during smaller private classes or the open format classes where people come and decide what they want to work on; thats more chi-sau, drills, etc. As a result, I am lucky to spar 1-2 times a week though theoretically it could be more, just with my schedule.