TSD and TKD

W

white dragon

Well knowing very little about a lot, I thought I'd ask what the main differences and main similarities between the two are. Anyone?

Turner

Blue Belt
Reaction score
In my experience with Tang Soo Do, it is almost identical to Karate. I've studied Kyokushin and Goju-ryu.. the principles were basically same and the more research I've done, the forms are the same as Shotokan's. The only difference was the occassional use of the side facing stance (I say occassional, because the TKD people I've had the pleasure of teaching used the side facing stance almost exclusively.) According to Hwang Kee's book Soo Bahk Do Tang Soo Do, TKD was the result of all of the various Korean fighting forms (with the exception of Yudo<judo>, Hapkido, and Kumdo) coming together in order to form a national art. However, the TSD guys will take offense when you say that they are just like TKD because of TKD's focus on the sport aspect of combat. However, the TSD class I studied was primarily a sport art with no real self defense application.

So, to answer the question, I think it will come down to who is teaching what. From what I've seen of Karate, TSD, and TKD.. they are all the same thing with minor differences. (realism, seriousness, and intensity)

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My understanding is that TSD is very similar to TKD (and hence to karate) but with much more of a self-defense aspect and much less of a sport aspect, but as Turner states this will very from school to school.

OP
S

Shinzu

as TSD forms and shotokan forms are similar, there are different forms that are taught in TKD. TSD is more self defense orientated compared to TKD, but TKD devotes alot more efforts on high kicking and less on hand techniques.

TKD is also sports like where TSD shys away from this aspect.

OP
S

shihantae

Hi All,
In 1955 five schools came together to creat a blanket name for the Korean martail arts.
Moo Duk Kwan Tang Soo Do(GM Kee Hwang)