Training someone with no body awareness??

SAConner

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm looking for tips on training someone with little to no body awareness.
I'm a student teacher in a Gung Fu class and we have a student with very little awareness, a great example of some who never learned how to use their body as a child. The student has a lot of drive and really weants to learn so any advice would be very helpful!

Thanks all!

kuniggety

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Patience. There's not a lot else to it. If they've got the drive, they'll eventually get it. It's just on you to have the patience to teach them.

Even having taken karate for a couple of years as a kid, I had no real body awareness until I was an adult. For me it was in 2009 when I started running and ran the Okinawa marathon and afterwards got back into martial arts, doing calisthenics, and a variety of weight/strength training that I really started to learn me body. It's a never ending journey... It's just how far along you are.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a student teacher in a Gung Fu class and we have a student with very little awareness, a great example of some who never learned how to use their body as a child. The student has a lot of drive and really weants to learn so any advice would be very helpful!

Thanks all!
When you find out, let me know. I had an employee, I was supervising, and that guy would walk into people; if he was coming, you had to move. I remember thinking he needed Karate lessons, but he was just to much of a liability to keep, (or try to save when he messed up). As For helping an actual martial arts student, he is in the right place. One method, I find very helpful, is to verbally announce the basic-move, announce its return motion, and, announce the next move. It will make doing a technique or Form a long drawn out process, but, it is that attention to detail, that is needed.

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor