training/life journal

DangerMouse

White Belt
Reaction score
I started training MMA and kickboxing around 4 months ago to help with my anxiety depression and to get myself into fit shape. normal gyms just bored me since picking up martial arts my mood has increased dramatically. I'm hooked!! love the sport and reading about different cultures etc.

My question is, do people keep a training and or life journal to keep track of their progress be it in training and or day to day life. I've been toying with the idea and I've bought myself 3 notepads one for training one for logging my food and finally the third being for my spiritual side for my meditation logging. I meditate daily on a morning (when i can) before training i get a quick 10 mins in the back room at the gym and bed on a night time. struggling with a way to get it down on paper in the sense of a structure.

anyone do this and can help with a structure?

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. You might want to go to the Meet and Greet subforum and tell us a little about yourself.

As to your question, I never have beyond writing in a word processor those techniques for 2nd and 3rd Dan. We had a sheet for white belt to 1st Dan, but not for the other two. But that really isn't a journal. My comment would be if you see value to it, by all means do it whether anyone else does or not.

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
While training in the last club I was recording what I was doing every training and writing down the priorities for improvement (or something to focus next time). I think I also did it before, but never did it for long time.

OP
DangerMouse

DangerMouse

White Belt
Reaction score
While training in the last club I was recording what I was doing every training and writing down the priorities for improvement (or something to focus next time). I think I also did it before, but never did it for long time.