Tournaments?

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey, I have a question...

I was reading the thread on Chung Moo Do, and it SEEMS to me, (please forgive me if I am wrong) a lot of you seem to think the only way to prove an art is good is to fight in a tournament.

For the most part, aren't tournaments sport-oriented competitions with a lot of limitations on the fighting you can do, and if so, how are they accurate measures of ones fighting ability?

When I studied Hapkido, the tournaments I fought in limited your striking to above the wasit and below the neck, no strikes to the back, Etc... Definitly not a measure of fighting ability, IMHO. Even in UFC and many other "No Holds Barred" matches there are rules... no Eye Gouging, (intentional) Knee breaking or groin strikes, biting... etc...

SO does an art lose legitimacy as "Real" if its not used in tournaments? I'm not defending Chung Moo, I know almost nothing about it... But in the Bujinkan, one of the grandmaster Hatsumi's rules is no tournament fighting, because our art is not a sport. Does this make it a "fake" art because we dont impose rules and limitations on our fighting and win trophies with it?

I want to say also, I'm asking as a legitimate question, I am not trying to bash anyone for tournament fighting, or be a defensive jerk, I'm genuinly curious.

L

Laevolus

SOme very valid points there, most of which I'm not really qualified to answer, compared to some of the more knowledgable people on here.

After doing a lot of reading and studying over the past few years, though, I've come to the conclusion that in many ways, there are two "types" of martial arts - Self Defence and Sports.

Now, I'm not trying to shoehorn specific styles into one or the other, in many ways it's more down to the person who's doing it, but I know I do MA purely for self defence, I have no desire to enter competitions or tournaments, so the style I do suits me very well as it's more aimed for that.