too square

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Am I too square or old fashioned?

Since I am imparting TKD clases to the dojang dad's I am meaking efforts trying to teach the comands in korean, that's the way iI was taught and that's the way iI want to teach. So I call the name of the tech in korean followed in spanish and do the explanation. Yes I know it can be a little complicated but I want this group of men to have a good tkd formation and understanding of the korean orders. No I am not a master seargent just a guy who love this korean martial art in it's escency.

I have been visiting some friends at their karate dojos and all the comands are in japanese too.

This way of teaching is serving me a lot cause I am studying again the korean terminology too.

I really feel the energy flowing when I yell the comands and want my group feel it and to show all the martial potential to be recognized by their boys and girls.

Too crazy? I don't think so.

Manny.

Omar B

Senior Master
Reaction score
You are doing the right thing man, teach in Korean, all Korean if possible. I know that in Karate we do everything in Japanese and it works quite well. We are all on the same page no matter if we are in our class, at a tournament with people from all over the world or in a seminar being taught by an instructor from another country because we have a common language, Japanese.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can you really understand an Art if you do not understand the people and culture from which it comes? Learning Korean, even the very limited Korean required to know the names of the stances, blocks, kicks, etc gives one some small insite into the people of Korea.

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Go for it!

It also does help them communicate in the greater TKD community.

It's the language of the trade, like doctors have theirs, etc.