TKD master?

MariaRia72

White Belt
Reaction score
About 5 months ago I joined a taekwondo academy and really like it. I've reached my yellow stripe and am really enjoying training. Now, my taekwondo master is really tough. He can be very nice, but very tough... and he always picks me to demonstrate kicks or different moves. Now as a white/yellow belt, I'm still very new to a lot of things we do in class, but even still he picks me. Out of about 30 students he almost always picks me to demonstrate something. He even calls me to demonstrate in front of the class instead of one of our co-instructors. I'm not sure exactly how to take this, as he is quick to criticize me when I'm doing something wrong, but at the same time uses me as a guide for the rest of the class. What do you think it means?

PS: One of my co-instructors has joked with me on numerous occasions that I'm "taking her job".

KenpoMaster805

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
HI Maria hugs welcome to MT its good that your taekwondo instructor is nice and firm at the same time thats the only way to learn also you know why your instructor picks you because maybe your the best in your class and maybe you are doing the forms right and strong dont worry if you make mistake its part of Martial arts and the instructor correct you to make your forms or technique better take it from me been there done that hehehe who knoes maybe you can help kids with their taekwondo in my karate studios if your good even though your are a jr brown the teacher will ask you to joined Swat team and help teach thats what i did when i wasorange i joined the swat because i wanted to teach and become an instructor

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I've seen instructors choosing someone based on experience (not too little) and size (not too small or big).