There are no Secrets

East Winds

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I have often read on this board that Masters only teach so much of their art to students and keep back a portion of their teachings as some form of insurance. I used to believe this. In fact I believed it for the first 15 years of my Taiji studies. I continually searched for the “golden key” that would magically open the door to the real secret training contained in Yang style. I bought books. I bought video tapes and DVD’s. I attended seminars, but still couldn’t find the key. It took me another 2 years to realise that my teacher (a Yang lineage holder) was not holding anything back and that it was myself who was impeding my progress. He used to say “Do you know the meaning of the 10 essences?” and I would invariably say “Yes, now show me the good stuff, I’ve been doing this style for 15 years now and I’m ready for the good stuff”. My teacher would simply say, “How can I teach you advanced form when you are still not doing some of the basics. Do you know the meaning of the 10 essences?” It eventually dawned on me that Cheng-fu’s 10 essences were the only secret of Yang style. Cheng-fu said this many times. My teacher said it many times. Yes, I knew what the essences were. I could recite them without difficulty. It was only when I really started to look at my form that I realised I wasn’t doing them!!! Without the 10 essences you cannot develop or deliver Jin. If you do not have the 10 essences you cannot “have a needle wrapped in cotton”. Without the 10 essences you cannot apply applications. Without the 10 essences you cannot deliver the Fa Jin that is inherent in Yang style. Don’t be conned by teachers who profess to teach Snake style or Crane style or whatever other named style. These were unknown to Yang Cheng-fu. They are inventions. They are variations introduced by teachers for whatever purpose. Neither Fu Zhong Wen, Chen Wei Ming, Dong Ying Chieh, or Cheng Man-Ching knew of these “variations”.