The way you train to fight? Will it work for the streets?

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, How many times we hear the term " The way you train is the way you will fight? and will it work for the streets?

Do you have hard contact and anything goes in your training? take downs and add-ins punches, hits,stomps and so on?

Fight like on the streets style?

This could be a repeat thread from early? not sure...........Aloha

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
One of the things I see a lot, and am grateful we do not do at my school...

Is that people of many arts (mine included) practice techniques against attackers doing, well, their techniques.

When I studied Hapkido, for example, all the attacks we defended against were typical Hapkido style strikes and kicks. But what then, for example if you fight a different "type" of fighter?

In my current Buj school, we have an exercise, its mostly done by the Blackbelts but I think most of us have had some exposure... where the attacker puts on Boxing gloves (for saftey reasons) and then goes all out throwing wild punches like you see in many street-fighting clips... and I'll tell you, it changes the perspective on recieving an attack. We also try and train our techniques against a "street style" attacker... I dunno if I can explain exactly... but... realistic type punches, grabs, pushes... with a verbal threat element added to them as well... and it feels... different... than training against a "dojo" type of attack... if you get my meaning.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I agree. It is very important to add in that realism and aliveness to your training. Too many times, as it was said, you see people doing the 'dojo' attack, or will hear, 'Well, my Instructor or Master does/did it, so it must work!' Well, IMHO, regardless of the Master doing it, WE need to be able to do it. What works for some, may not work as easily for others.