Teaching the class already?! Ah crumbs..

swiftpete

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Well I was only graded to shodan the other week and my black belt is still shiny and new, practically still got the label on. Just found out my instructor can't make the class tonight which is a once in a blue moon event. Also, due to work commitments etc the other BB's can't make it. So guess who's teaching the class tonight..?!

How am I going to fill 2 hrs? Its my first time teaching everyone properly, been thrown in the deep end a bit but got to just go for it I guess. Wish me luck! Feel a bit nervous now. In fact pretty nervous.
Right, off to class, hopefully it'll go well and I won't end up being KO'd by a white belt or something else humiliating!

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Want some good news?

You don't need any special help.

You already have a good command of the fundamentals (since you have your shodan), and there's no reason why you can't teach the class, assuming that you have a reasonable knowledge of helping others with the material.

There are many things you can do, such as conduct a class on the review of the basic fundamentals, and have the whole class just do a boatload of them. This way, you'll learn how to count the series, project your voice, etc. It will also help you gain an even better understanding of those fundamentals (remember, you have a good command, and not a mastery of such things).

You can take the whole group through a comprehensive kata review session. Start out with the simplest form, and have the whole class do it, and then do the other forms, in order of difficulty, and sitting down various students along the way.

You can do kumite drills.