Stretching

S

Snipes

I'm fairly new to the martial arts and I'm studying Gun Fu with grandmaster archibeque in olympia, washington. He has these wierd stretching tecniques he performs and they don't really work. Does anyone have a good stretching workout that will make me extremely flexible and will allow me to do the splits, perform high kicks, and all the good stuff. Thanks.
-Snipes

OP
S

Shinzu

each individual might have their own stretching techniques. if you find that they are not working for you, perhaps you could approach him and ask him the meaning behind these certain stretches.

i always start with my upper body and work my way down to the lower body. the best advise i could give is stretch, stretch, stretch. unfortunately it takes time and alot of repatition to achieve any flexability.

you might want to keep this in mind also. stretching before a workout gets the blood flowing to your muscles and joints, while stretching after a workout actually adds to your flexability.

OP
S

Snipes

ok, but all i want is some example of something that i can revise to make my own. i know each workout for each person is different however i just want an example so i can make it mine. it just sounded like you didn't know any stretches that would be good for that, however if i am wrong please correct me by showing me some stretches/stretch workouts (s) to make me become more flexible and be able to perform the splits. sorry if i come across as a jerk but thats what i'm looking for. the information you gave me was good, just wasn't what i wanted :).
-Snipes

OP
T

theneuhauser

you might want to keep this in mind also. stretching before a workout gets the blood flowing to your muscles and joints, while stretching after a workout actually adds to your flexability.