Speed of the Siu Lim Tao

AfroFu

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm very new to Wing Chun (1 month in) but am thoroughly enjoying it so far. When doing the Siu Lim Tao I have noticed the speed of the first section is done quite slowly, but the other sections are fast. What's the thinking behind this?

Having studied a little bit of Tai Chi way back when I was a teenager, I saw value in the intensively slow practice. Everything from relaxing, maintaining balance, to efficiency of movement was taken up in the slow form.

Is there a different philosophy to the Wing Chun forms? How fast/slow do people run through them? Is there much benefit to be gained from doing them super slowly vs at speed?

Thanks,
Af.

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hey, welcome to the forum...and to Wing Chun.
Every lineage of WC is going to have their own flavor, but the Siu Nim Tao form (as we call it) traditionally is done rather slowly in every lineage I've seen, particularly in the first 1/3 of the form.

This is done for a whole host of reasons....chi kung training, proper relaxation........

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
Strong element of learning to feel. Feel where there is tension in the body and why. Feel your structure. What muscles are being applied and when, what muscles are relaxed and when. Feeling the change in your center of gravity as your arm moves forward and backward. Feeling how your breathing changes your center of gravity. Feeling how the center of gravity changes affect your balance and how your feet and toes adjust to control your balance.

Going slow also allows the beginner practitioner to work on having their elbow, wrist, arm in the proper positions during the movements.
This and as Yak Sao stated, "a whole host of reasons..." and that is just to begin with.