So What's the Hold Up??

MartialIntent

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello all from a complete newB! I'm here seeking enlightenment - sort of... I'm hoping there's someone out there that can show me the way to get myself motivated to get back out there and *do* my martial art? Dumb question probably, I'm not sure why I'm procrastinating - I enjoyed the club, I enjoy the art [Shodokan Aikido] and senseis were very encouraging but I've had a long lay off [kids, houses and everything else] and I'm having trouble getting my foot back over the dojo threshold. Any tips or suggestions would be *very* welcome indeed!

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
MartialIntent said:
Hello all from a complete newB! I'm here seeking enlightenment - sort of... I'm hoping there's someone out there that can show me the way to get myself motivated to get back out there and *do* my martial art? Dumb question probably, I'm not sure why I'm procrastinating - I enjoyed the club, I enjoy the art [Shodokan Aikido] and senseis were very encouraging but I've had a long lay off [kids, houses and everything else] and I'm having trouble getting my foot back over the dojo threshold. Any tips or suggestions would be *very* welcome indeed!

I would start by practicing your old rolls and breakfalls on your carpet or other soft, safe spot. A couple of weeks of this should get you back in the spirit and you won't have the feeling, subconcious or otherwise, that you would be TOTALLY lost upon your return to the dojo. Most long term martial artists have been where you're at at some point. My answer was to put my WaveMaster bag near my bed. A few jabs, crosses and sidekicks done at my leisure got me back into the swing of things.

Welcome to Martial Talk!:)

OP
MartialIntent

MartialIntent

Black Belt
Reaction score
Jonathan Randall said: