Should I be addressed as Sifu?

masherdong

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I had a question that I thought that I would bring up here. I have been training in kung fu and am an Asst Instructor for kung fu. Now, this past summer, I became a certified instructor in krav maga. After coming back to school, many of our students started calling me Sifu. My Sifu for kung fu told me no, and that I am to be addressed as Si Hing. So, my question is, why cant I be addressed as Sifu? I am a teacher or instructor, just not in kung fu.

How different is that than the medical field? If you are a Dr. for Cardiology or Dr of Pediatrics, doesnt matter, you are still addressed as Dr. so why should that matter in my case??

Your thoughts are appreciated.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I had a question that I thought that I would bring up here. I have been training in kung fu and am an Asst Instructor for kung fu. Now, this past summer, I became a certified instructor in krav maga. After coming back to school, many of our students started calling me Sifu. My Sifu for kung fu told me no, and that I am to be addressed as Si Hing. So, my question is, why cant I be addressed as Sifu? I am a teacher or instructor, just not in kung fu.

How different is that than the medical field? If you are a Dr. for Cardiology or Dr of Pediatrics, doesnt matter, you are still addressed as Dr. so why should that matter in my case??

Your thoughts are appreciated.
I'd say your too hung up on titles, kind of like a Ph.D. who insists on being addressed as "doctor" at all times. In the US, outside of academic and some formal settings, only medical doctors are commonly addressed as Dr.

If you are teaching krav maga, you're the teacher. If you're in kung fu class -- you are a student.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score