Traditional CMA in Austin Texas?

B

BIGtiny

Hello all,
This is my first post to this forum, thank you for taking the time to read my question. I am new to kung fu training, but I am happy to say that I have decided to devote the free time I do have to the study of CMA. I began my hard work at a training hall here in Austin Texas, and up until now have been pretty happy with my progress. I had two goals in starting MA. One was to learn traditional kung-fu (Shaolin interests me greatly, however family styles are not overlooked either) and the other was to attain a higher fitness level. I would say that up to this point I have really only been fulfilling the second part of my goal, and have recently been searching out a more authentic form of CMA taught here in Austin. Was wondering if some of the experienced guys here on this forum had any thoughts about the below website, or any ideas on a good sifu here in Austin. Thank you in advance for your assistance
Respectfully your,
BIGtiny
www.eastwindtraininghall.com/index.html

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

It's a bit pricey though $100 a month is no longer unreasonable--I pay it for JKD/BJJ--and the description of the style seems reasonable as well, though the secretiveness raises a slight flag. The group classes only rate is quite fair though often a school will push for you to upgrade (like any business). No contracts so check it out!

OP
B

BIGtiny

I plan to check it out next week :D
Yea, I was a little suspicious of the secritiveness as well as the whole "benevolent society order", however they seem to be fairly strong in tradition to general CMA (no belt ranks) and to their family traditions, so perhaps this secretivness is part of it, either way the proof is in the pudding as they say. I will be excited to train with them next week. Thanks for taking a look, I appreciate your input.

*bows*
Bt

Michael Billings

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score