'Real' knife fighting

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
I am the first to admit I am not experienced in RBSD or knife fighting.
But when I see someone pushing a knife out of someones hand with the inside of his wrist (the beginning of the video) it makes me wonder if the other guy has any clue at all.

EDIT: Btw, this clip is NOT graphic at all. The picture in the preview is just a sensationalist way of getting attention.
It doesn't even feature in the video.

[yt]bqzQPxskprI[/yt]

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Oh, boy.... where to start? For one thing, not sure what the map (Tokyo down to Melbourne) was about at the beginning... he's teaching concepts from Silat, not a Japanese art. His knife defence was, uh, not really something I'd recommend (although I did like the disclaimer telling "the protesters" that this was 3 minutes out of a three day course [to become an instructor, no less].... did that mean that he did some better stuff, and chose to advertise the flawed bits only?).

Then he's showing use of knife against someone punching him (?), and there's no issue he has doing that? With those movements, though, there's some okay stuff, but there's a lot of stuff that I wouldn't put in again.

Oh, and although the clip has no graphic aspect, I would put a language warning for anyone easily offended...

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well, I'd have to see the guy in person to really get a feel for what he's doing, but going only on the clip alone, I wasn't that crazy about it. If you're going to strip the knife away in the fashion that he did in the beginning, I'd use the forearm, not the wrist area.