question

hong kong fooey

Black Belt
Reaction score
Okay I have a question. I have been studying TAE KWON DOE for about 2 years now and I am almost a black belt. the problem is that we never learn anything new until we get our next belt it always the same thing and it makes the class kinda boring. I have started to take a compleatly different style of martial arts also but the problem is that the class is on the same day as my TAE KWON DO class. m,y question is should I just drop my tae kwon do class and focus on my other class or should I stick with my tae kwon do class?

The answer is simple do you wish to obtain your BB in TKD if thats mattersstay if not and the other class is more of what you are looking for make a change. Me personnally I would finish TKD and then start with another style. You said you have over three year vested in it, so finish it.
Terry

hong kong fooey said:
Okay I have a question. I have been studying TAE KWON DOE for about 2 years now and I am almost a black belt. the problem is that we never learn anything new until we get our next belt it always the same thing and it makes the class kinda boring. I have started to take a compleatly different style of martial arts also but the problem is that the class is on the same day as my TAE KWON DO class. m,y question is should I just drop my tae kwon do class and focus on my other class or should I stick with my tae kwon do class?

Funakoshi wrote that it should take three years to perfect a kata; that's for the first three, mind you. In that sense, I expect a lot of repetition in my class. I haven't been disappointed so far. With regards to my TKD classes, we practiced the forms in much the same way you describe. When we achieved a certain level, we practiced for the next level and all levels prior. We would observe the more advanced forms from a seated position. Is that not the way of advancement for many things?