Practicing Traditional Taekwondo in a WTF Sport Taekwondo Dojang

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
As I understand things the ideas that underpinned older TKD practice were things like:

I studied TKD in the mid-sixties and I think we were pretty traditional.

1. Using kicks to break bones.

Any strike or kick or even a block was intended to cause damage.

2. Using punches to set up kicks (including things like aiming to break the blocking arm).
3. Using snapping kicks like jabs and thrust kicks like crosses.

I don't recall anything that even looked like a thrust kick. Blocks kept us from being hit and then we counter attacked. The first time I saw a thrust kick was from a 3rd Dan TKD I was teaching Hapkido to. I had to ask him what that was and why would you use it. It just didn't make sense from what I had been taught.

4. Using the bones or small striking areas (like the heel, foot ball and ankle bone) to impact vital points, rather than broader foot pads.

Fist strikes too were intended to cause damage.

So from this we can surmise a focus on Speed, Power and Precision and Distancing. - Yep, that was what it was all about.

In training then they probably did much more strength work. My WTF training was almost purely speed based. They would probably made more use of weights.

Obviously more hands but also more conditioning to toughen fingers and grip strength for your spear hands etc.

I don't think grip strength will help a spear hand.

More boxing combinations, especially on a heavy bag so you can practice natural flow into anx out of kicks.
Some trapping/joint manipulation to make things like spear hand strikes happen.

All kicks should use breaking technique which means more toughening toes, ankles and knees. So squats, lunges, farmers walking.