Picking up a new art in a new school?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I trained Taekwondo as a kid, and came to a new school to also train Taekwondo. While at that new school, I also decided to learn Hapkido. In both of these cases, I started with something I already knew - either the teacher or the art.

As I look at my future, I'm considering taking something else to expand my horizons. Maybe boxing or BJJ. But in order to do one of these, I'd need to move outside of my school.

I'm curious what the experience has been for experienced martial artists moving outside their "realm" to go to a new school and learn a new art? At this point in time, I've got 9 years experience in Taekwondo and 2 years in Hapkido. So in terms of martial arts, I'm a lot different than someone who has never taken any art before.

But in terms of boxing, I know some of the punches better than someone off the street, but I don't train their footwork or style at all. In terms of BJJ, I've got even less experience, even if some of my hapkido principles will carry over.

How is it for you who have a lot of experience going to a new art? Do you find your experience in your old art helps? Do you find that it's hard to humble yourself and start fresh? Is there a frustration that you're not progressing as fast as you'd thought, or are you surprised that you go faster than you expected?

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Depends on what you move over to. When I went from TKD to Shotokan, my TKD background gave me a pretty solid foundation and I was able to test to Green belt after only being in Shotokan for a few months. When I left Shotokan and briefly tried Judo, it was like I was on a completely different planet. Judo completely pierced my bubble and completely changed how I viewed martial arts forever. The only thing that transferred over from karate was some of the hip twisting I had learned from years of practice.