Permanent injury from training?

KydeX

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi.

I have been training in Bujinkan for almost three years now. We go at it pretty hard sometimes. Sometimes because me and my uke has agreed on it, and sometimes by accident. Also, our main instructor can be really tough sometimes when he demonstrates new stuff.

I especially feel this on elbow locks. At the end of a session of using mostly elbow locks, it really hurts. Sometimes I feel it for several days afterwards.

Could this be damaging to the joints in any way in the long term?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Could this be damaging to the joints in any way in the long term?

I am not a doctor. This is not medical advice.

However, in my opinion, life is damaging to the joints in the long term. Muscle is designed to be torn down and rebuilt by the body; the more you use it, the stronger it gets. Joints are made up of bone, cartilage, tendons, and so on, and some of those are friction points that do not self-repair, nor become stronger with use or abuse. Some parts of the body are not made tougher by intentionally damaging them. If I had to guess, I would say that forcing joints to overextend would be one of those things that doesn't make a person stronger, better, or more flexible by doing it. Not talking about being able to do the splits, but like you said, bending elbows backwards.

From looking at the medical issues that profession athletes suffer over the course of their careers, many of which seem to give them trouble later in life, I would say you are right to be concerned.

Caution is advised. Consult your doctor. Listen to your body.

I have had some injuries in my life that still cause me problems, decades later; that means at my age, I do not think they will ever truly heal. None were related to training martial arts, but they happened anyway.

OP
K

KydeX

Orange Belt
Reaction score