One for the ladies in Krav Maga

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Found this clip on youtube and was very impressed. Actually saw a couple of defenses that we've used in my aikido class.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
:D Unintentionally, your link just goaded me into giving some eejut a bit of a sarcy-slapping for the nonsense he spouted in the Comments section :eek:.

On topic, that was interesting to see. My only criticism would be the over-focus on groin attacks. It's something that when I did Lau Gar we were cautioned against as every man alive has instinctive defensive reactions for that sort of strike and, as we all know, there is actually a delay between successful contact and effect that permits an attacker to do something 'nasty' to you before it kicks in.

OP
theletch1

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As usual, Mark, you are spot on. When I studied kempo there was a seemingly inordinate amount of groin strikes. The problem with too much reliance on a groin strike is that an effective groin strike is actually very hard to actuate. All guys have that split second of "Oh, crap!" reaction the first time the strike is thrown, after that it looses some of its surprise effect. There is also, as you stated, the very ingrained instinct to protect that area without even thinking about it. There are certainly places for a good groin strike but relying too heavily on it will get you in trouble. I like Krav Maga and would seriously think about adding it as an adjunct to my aikido training if there were any schools in my area.

And here's hoping that "Thuga" is indeed kept safe by his fan boy status. :)

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score