One-eyed beginner

Eyeofhorus

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi
I wear a glass eye on my left side, and see only with my right, so my field of vision is narrower than normal. I am right handed.
I'm thinking of taking up a martial art to improve my spatial awareness, build up my confidence and gain basic self-defensive skills.

I've no idea where to start - there are so many disciplines out there, and I'm totally new to this kind of sport.

Thoughts and suggestions welcome.
Thanks a lot

Vince

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Vince. Welcome to MartialTalk!

One of our senior members here has a glass eye, so he'll probably be along in a bit to give some specific advice on how it might affect your training.

That said, you should probably take the same approach to picking an art and a school that we would recommend to anybody. Make a list of the martial arts schools in your vicinity, visit as many as possible and decide which one feels like an attractive training environment for you that also fits your schedule and your budget.

If you post the websites of any particular schools you are interested in, then the members here might be able to offer some feedback on whether we see any red flags.

There are a fair number of threads here that contain advice for newbies starting out in the martial arts. I recommend you do some reading and post if you have any specific questions.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi
I wear a glass eye on my left side, and see only with my right, so my field of vision is narrower than normal. I am right handed.
I'm thinking of taking up a martial art to improve my spatial awareness, build up my confidence and gain basic self-defensive skills.

I've no idea where to start - there are so many disciplines out there, and I'm totally new to this kind of sport.

Thoughts and suggestions welcome.
Thanks a lot

Vince