No experience better at WC/WT?

Si-Je

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Do you think that people who start Wing Chun training that have never had anyother Martial Arts training learn faster and more completely than someone that has had a previous MA background?

I've been teaching for a couple of years and I've noticed that people who come to us with other MA backgrounds tend to take longer to learn the concepts of WC and learning sensitivity and relaxation than those that have absolutely no martial arts training.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this before in their schools, teaching, or training? And what your thoughts were on this.

Eru Ilúvatar

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I would say that it depends on the person. I've seen examples of both, but generaly speaking, I would say people with previous martial training get WC faster.

dungeonworks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Do you think that people who start Wing Chun training that have never had anyother Martial Arts training learn faster and more completely than someone that has had a previous MA background?

I've been teaching for a couple of years and I've noticed that people who come to us with other MA backgrounds tend to take longer to learn the concepts of WC and learning sensitivity and relaxation than those that have absolutely no martial arts training.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this before in their schools, teaching, or training? And what your thoughts were on this.