Ninjitsu "streetfighting"

K

Koga-Shinobi

Hey, another question: I called this guy up from this Ninjitsu club/dojo in my area, where I'm thinking of starting, to ask about Ninjitsu (I'm a beginner MA)...and he basically described Ninjitsu as "Japanese streetfighting"...said the style they teach is very aggressive, offensive, and destructive...ie, in a self-defense situation, it's very effective at taking a dude down (by the impression I got, the opponent tends to get hurt badly during the process!).

What are your thoughts on that? Still being a novice in the field, I dont know what to make of it. What do the experts out there (you guys) have to say?

Oh...he says that whenever his student enter fights, they clean the floor...to such an extent, that other gyms dont want to fight against them. That likely, or just bragging on his part?:rolleyes:

OP

928Porsche

I am studying ninpo, not ninjutsu. Ninjutsu is only a part of the curiculum.

It is possible to hurt someone very badly with some throw or sweep. But with ninpo, that is not the only option. Its possible to throw or sweep someone and not hurt them badly. Its your choice. Ninpo, ninjutsu is not the end all beat all of martial arts. It can be very effective, but it is the martial artist that must be effective, not the art.

OP
K

Koga-Shinobi

Hey dudes, so I went to the dojo the other day to check it out...being a public holiday, it was a pretty small class (6 people of the usual 30-odd)..4 of whom were 6th kyu students.

Because of the few numbers, Sensei decided not to do syllabus work, but "street combat" techniques (for a lack of a better name).....MAN, was I impressed, this dude is one lethal mother!! Take no nonsense attitude (wide as a barn with the skills to match)...yet willing to help at all costs and answer all questions I posed. Very cool dude.