Newbie tryingto read between the lines

BigEb

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to the world of Tae Kwon Do. My son has been doing it for several months and I've been roped into it as well. I have a few questions based upon what I've experienced and read.

1. There's a lot of discussion about the types of TKD (sport vs traditional, etc.) and training practise methods. The discussions usually focus on which is better but there is no explanation as to why? As a newbie, I don't have the experience or knowledge to understand underlying reasons behind posted statements.

2. Since I'm middle-aged and overweight, it doesn't matter to me what kind of TKD I'm learning so long as I get in shape. With this being said and assuming the soreness goes away (someday), what kind of training can I do on my own to further refine what I'm learning?

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First off welcome to our group here. We do have a meet and greet section so you can introduce yourself to everyone.

On to your question, it does not matter which style as long as you are happy. Try to do some additional cardio and strecthing, this always helps everytime. Also try to expand on outside traing like wieght lifting or Basketball, something to help on those day you are not training. Just remember pain is going to be your worst enemy. Best of luck

KELLYG

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Sport Taekwando is more training to prepare for tournaments. Lots of sparing. Traditional taekwando concentrates on pomse, kicking, blocking, and self defenses as well as sparing. There are probably more differences that I've missed.

Good luck.

OP
B

BigEb

White Belt
Reaction score
What's pomse and how do you know if your school is focused on traditional TKD vs sport?

terryl965

MTS Alumni
Reaction score
What's pomse and how do you know if your school is focused on traditional TKD vs sport?