Need good advice

Drunken_Boxer

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hiho guys!
I started with tae kwon do a half year ago,and Im very good,normaly I trained in the past karate,when I got time I practice drunken boxing style and the eagle claw,but...
My first turnir or championship in my country starting 10.03.2007 man Im a lil bit scared,I mean,its my first time,I got a yellow belt,need 5 cm to perform a spagat,but Im afraid of that I will got again a kick in my ribs...my Master gave me a dwi chagi kick in my ribs (when I had sparring with him),so that I was out of my breath,and it was a horrible feeling since I got that kick.
So I need a goooood advice to get prepare for that championship.Thanks!
=)

Laurentkd

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hiho guys!
I started with tae kwon do a half year ago,and Im very good,normaly I trained in the past karate,when I got time I practice drunken boxing style and the eagle claw,but...
My first turnir or championship in my country starting 10.03.2007 man Im a lil bit scared,I mean,its my first time,I got a yellow belt,need 5 cm to perform a spagat,but Im afraid of that I will got again a kick in my ribs...my Master gave me a dwi chagi kick in my ribs (when I had sparring with him),so that I was out of my breath,and it was a horrible feeling since I got that kick.
=)

Hi and welcome.

Could you tell us what you m ean by a "5 cm to perform a spagat"?

Otherwise, just relax and do your best. I always tell students to not expect anything great out of yourself at your first tournament. Its good to go just to experience it, see how it works, understand how the nerves effect you, learn to listen for your division being called (this is a big one!), etc. Then, once you have seen how it works once you'll be able to prepare better for the next one. And so on and so on, getting better and better eachtime.