My Self-Defense Story

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
So, last night, I'm on the way home from the dojo. Tired and sweaty, still wearing my gi pants and a hoodie. I'm driving my car down a side-street (there's no direct route to my house from the dojo) and I approach a train crossing and I can see that there is a train stopped on the tracks, not moving.

I have some experience with this crossing. There is a switch nearby, and sometimes the crossing will be blocked for hours while they pull apart cars. Very frustrating. There's a nearby road that has an overpass for the train tracks, so the best solution is to turn around, backtrack a mile or so, cut over a half mile, and go down the road with the trestle overpass for the train.

So, I see the car in front of me has the same idea. With no oncoming traffic (since the train prevents it), we both start to turn around in the street. My car is very small and his is larger, so I get turned around in one go, he has to back up and turn twice to complete his U-turn. But in any case, I'm well away from him and do not block him in any way.

But he comes from behind, runs up on my bumper, and passes me on the left, honking and flipping me off. He rockets down the road, clearly headed the same way I am going. I let him go.

Eventually, though, due to traffic signals and whatnot, I catch up to him. We're side-by-side on a larger street, two lanes of traffic each way, and he's stuck in the slow lane behind another car, which he's tailgating. I pass him and glance over, and he's cursing and flipping me off. Looks like a big fat guy, he does not look particularly threatening to me; except that if a guy that size gets a punch in, it can sure hurt. From how high he's sitting in his seat, I'd guess he's well over six feet tall.