mirrors

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello just want to get other peoples thought on this.
Does your school have mirrors? if so how much do you use them?

also where do u get mirrors at a good price? cause i may get 2 if i open my own place soon

Lorak

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
My teacher loves the mirrors when he is demonstrating a form.

He has us stand to the left and right of him facing the mirrors. Then we mimic his form. We can see our selves in the mirrors for self correcting, and he can also see us in the mirrors to his side to make sure everyone is going through the proper motions.

I have trained in places with and without them. They are a really nice addition, but not a requirement.

Oh, I guess I need to add that this is from a students perception. As a teacher I guess it would depend on your style of teaching.

OP
TallAdam85

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Loark, thanks yes i have been to dojo's with and with out them there nice but i have also seen when people are sparring and slammed in to them and when they break and kinda pricey to get new ones

14 Kempo

Grandmaster
Reaction score

also where do u get mirrors at a good price? cause i may get 2 if i open my own place soon

I have mirrors, about 60 linear feet of them, mounted from the 24" level to about 76" tall. We use them continually. The students are able to see themselves, their postions and use themselves as targets during basics. There are a few people that say they don't like looking at themselves and for the most part, I don't like looking at them either ... LOL ... that was a joke of course. Mirrors are yet another tool. I vote yes. As far as where to get them, I used a local glass shop, so I can't really give any advice there.

Lorak

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Loark, thanks yes i have been to dojo's with and with out them there nice but i have also seen when people are sparring and slammed in to them and when they break and kinda pricey to get new ones